My masters are within my efforts

DSCF7495To the left, Noro Masamichi sensei and to the right Ueshiba Moriheï sensei

This morning, a student asked me: “Are you the second generation after Ueshiba Morihei sensei?”

I looked at him surprised, not knowing what to answer. Yes, my master was Noro Masamichi sensei and, yes, he was otomo (serving disciple) to Ueshiba Morihei sensei. I do practice every day and, every day, I do not look onto the close relation to my master and to my master’s master. I just look at the techniques and I practice.

In these mouvements, I dig hard and sometimes, I do find marks of old times, when my master was a student at Ueshiba Morihei sensei’s dojo. My feeling of these senseis is found within my efforts. There accomplishments are still living inside what my body realizes in the dojo.

I am a second generation indeed but in these words I understand “generation” as renewal of the art. This is the meaning of teaching as I see it.

Leave a Reply

