Buoyant Aikido

lavandeherbes_symhorFull summer in the garden. Photography by Nguyen Thanh Thien © 2016

The one thing that characterises the Aikido of my master is its flamboyancy, its splendid firework. People believe it was his character, his personality. I believe it is a teaching he learnt from his own master.

The Aikido I like and promote is based on a blooming strength. This is what Noro Masamichi sensei witnessed when he was Otomo (serving disciple) to Ueshiba Morihei sensei, founder of Aikido. This was his vision of Ki, breath-energy. This was his application of Ki and his teaching to us, his students. He employed buoyant vigour in all his movements. What he did was a lesson to me, beyond his talks. I rooted my study into this buoyancy.

Today, people are after efficiency. This standing point is  more a reflection of people’s anxiety and phantasm than of the lesson passed down from Ueshiba Morihei sensei and Noro Masamichi sensei. I prefer staying out of the way, not joining any group, keeping to what I learnt to be important in the teaching I witnessed. As my master’s student, I must testify his vigour and the vigour of his art. This is enough for me and it is my duty.

This is my understanding of Ki : training with full vigour, with buoyancy and with as much gentleness as my old master could show.

Noro Masamichi sensei deceased 4 years ago, March 15 2013. His teaching is gaining greater strength every day. His vision of Ueshiba Morihei sensei inspires us every day.

Leave a Reply

