Hanami

sakura001.Web.sqHanami is 花見 flower viewing. Photography by Nguyen Thanh Thien © 2017

I live in an area where many cherry trees bloom. It has even given a name to a cherry good for alcohol and cakes, the Montmorency Cherry Tree. As a martial artist, I walk among these trees and think about Japanese taste for these flowers. Much has been said about them as the symbol of the samurai.

The samurais I know of are my masters. I have had the chance to witness their last blossom. I saw their first too, for some of them. There has been adventure between both and I have learnt much.

Yet I recall the last blossom and readily, reach out to my training gear and start practising, under the cherry blossom.

Leave a Reply

