Even thin air

When one studies, one must not be disturbed by comments, criticism, misunderstanding. One walks the path of the masters of old, the forgotten lane which goes unoticed, that road among the heath which was given to the next generation with hope and trust.

I like to do Aïkido as a study of the example of my masters. I focus on what was, which was set as an example to reproduce, not only in a formal way but as a commitment to put ahead one’s heart, one’s earnestness, one’s trust in the improvement to come. Many try to find a better way of studying, a faster means to efficiency, a proficient drill to satisfy oneself. I like to set my efforts in the footprints of my master, confident that he gave me what would be of the greatest help to me.

Ringenkaï means in Japanese the eye of the wheel. One way of understanding this choice is to hear the whisper telling us that the more we move ahead, the more we see what was laid down for us way behind, waiting for our ability to reach the understanding of our masters. As I move smoothly on the mat, in a manner not to harm even the thin air around me, I come closer to my masters and they in turn come closer to me.

Leave a Reply

